are you looking for

an engineering or advanced manufacturing apprenticeship?

complete our enquiry form

BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Engineering (HNC)

Cost: £2000 + VAT per academic year
Level: 4
Duration: 2 Years day release

Delivering high level, industry-led training courses is what we do. As an engineering provider of advanced technical and academic skills, we work closely with employers to nurture and develop the employees they need for the future.

We provide employees with more than just a qualification. We develop both their industry skills and knowledge for immediate application in the workplace which maximises return on investment.


Our 2 year courses offer excellent value for money and consist of:

Manufacturing Engineering

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Operations Engineering

Entry requirements:

Ideally you will have completed a Level 3 qualification in engineering or equivalent.

Where will I study:

Training 2000 Blackburn


The BTEC Level 4 HNC Qualification in Engineering is a higher level programme aimed at developing a greater understanding and technical capability of engineering processes.

Method of delivery
  • Flexible delivery which minimises the impact of training during your working hours
  • Training available at our Blackburn site which has industry-leading learning environments
Who is this for

Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma The BTEC Higher National Certificate in Engineering is a suitable option for anyone progressing from Level 3 study. You may have completed a BTEC National Diploma or an equivalent qualification in engineering, or have a considerable experience within an engineering environment.


The BTEC Level 4 HNC Qualification in Engineering is structured to cover three specific pathways, Manufacturing Engineering, Electrical and Electronic, and Operations Maintenance, each pathway consists of a number of units at level 4 and 5, and our enhanced pathways offer easier progression routes to higher qualifications, i.e. HND and Degree


All units are internally assessed. Each unit within the qualification has specified pass assessment and grading criteria, in addition to this there are generic merit and distinction grading descriptors that describe performance over and above a pass grade. These allow grades of pass, merit or distinction to be awarded for all units.

Useful information

BTEC Level 4 HNC’s provide a nationally recognised qualification offering career progression and professional development for those already in employment and opportunities to progress into higher education. The qualifications are primarily undertaken by part-time learners studying over two years. In some sectors there are opportunities for those wishing to complete an intensive programme of study in a shorter period of time.

Date last updated:29 September 2021

Need more help finding the right opportunity?

Complete the following details and we will get in touch.